The Perfectionist.

“Hi, my name is Amanda and I am a perfectionist”.

It is a weakness that has stopped me from pursuing much of what God is calling me to.

This blog is one piece of that puzzle.

I know the Lord has been speaking to me about stepping out, and yet for quite some time now I have continued to hold back.

I guess that’s what happens when you blur the lines of excellence and perfectionism. I am starting to see that there is a very fine line between the two.

There is nothing wrong with wanting to do things with excellence, God is all for it; but as I look in the mirror and face the truth of what has immobilised me, I can admit that the perfectionist in me was actually in disagreement with God.

I didn’t choose this!

It’s clear now that I was refusing to step out in faith and obedience. It’s not that I don’t want to act in faith or obey the Lord, its because well, I care way too much about what others would think if things don’t turn out perfectly.

He remains so patient and loving.

For too long I have strived for perfection, when Jesus is simply saying, “give me the weight and fear of trying to measure up, and just be who I have made you to be”.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. (2 Corinthians 12:9).

I may think that I am unqualified to do what He is calling me to; but it is God who qualifies the called. It’s His final say, not mine or anyone else’s.

So, as I let go of the unhealthy relationship I have had with perfectionism and seek the Lord for the ability and anointing to achieve what he is calling me to, I declare today that no longer will I hold back, it’s time to take that leap!

He’s the expert in “cliff-catching” anyway, right?

 

Share in the conversation

