Self Portrait: Day 21 // 4:45pm

We are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago. (Ephesians 2:10 NLT)

Me-23

I have struggled with low self-esteem over the years, and at times it still shows up in certain areas of my personhood.

Whenever I find that I am getting a bit too hard on myself and putting myself down or doubting who God says I am, I find that coming to the word is a great help and boost for me. As I turn through the pages, God breathes his life and truth over me and I am reminded who I really am…that I matter. That I have a role to play in this life, and it is important.

Poetry in motion.

Ephesians 2 tells us we are God’s masterpiece. This means that our abilities, talents, personalities, experiences and heart are needed… you are wanted! You have value and worth!! It also means that we should listen and accept what God has to say about us first and foremost.

Isn’t it funny how all the good stuff we know to be true can be instantly erased when someone says just one negative thing about us? If we allow it to, this negativity can eat away at us until we start to believe the lies and then eventually, live out the lie.

This is why it is so important to know who you are, and who’s you are. You must know that you have a purpose to play, and it is significant.

As Oscar Wilde so poignantly puts it –

“Be yourself, everyone else is already taken”

*What role do you have in your family, church, workplace and life? How are you going to fulfil your role? What are you doing to lift your self-esteem?

Please share in the conversation, I would love to hear your thoughts, advice and experiences on this topic.

Amanda x

Share in the conversation

