John, in Black and White

One random Wednesday a couple of weeks back- I decided to document my husband, John on his day off from work.

No preconceived plans or ideas. Just me, him, the camera and Casper (our very much loved cat).

He didn’t favour the idea of me photographing him in this manner, but I insisted; and by the end of the day he didn’t even really notice I was snapping away. I didn’t go crazy with it or anything.. in fact I missed some details here and there, but when I grabbed my camera to take a shot- it felt right.

What I got were some raw, honest and unpretentious images of the man I love and our family as it is today. Moments that matter.

Ok, so I will admit.

To some this might seem peculiar and pointless, but to me I am documenting a part of our history.

These are the kind of photos I will be pulling out one day to show our future kids.

These are the photos I will look back on when we are old and wrinkly and say…remember when you were young and had baby smooth skin?!

To me, these are the kind of moments worth capturing, keeping and sharing.

These images hold a legacy – a day that we can never get back. A time capsule.

And, who know’s?

Maybe even one day our own children will pull out these pictures and show their kids, and they will say – you see your Grandfather was young like you once too!

John_B&W-2

John_B&W-7

John_B&W-21

John_B&W-5

John_B&W-3

John_B&W-9

John_B&W-8

John_B&W-10

John_B&W-12

John_B&W-11

John_B&W-13

John_B&W-14

John_B&W-15

John_B&W-16

John_B&W-17

John_B&W-18

John_B&W-6

John_B&W-19

John_B&W-20

John_B&W-23

John_B&W-24

John_B&W-25

One thought on “John, in Black and White

Share in the conversation

